Coffee Review - The World's Leading Coffee Guide

Search Results

We found 11 reviews that match your search for January 2003. Coffees are listed in reverse chronological order by review date. Older reviews may no longer accurately reflect current versions of the same coffee. Click on roaster images to visit roaster websites.


91
Roast: NA Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Jamaica Blue Mountain, Jamaican, Caribbean Price: $29.95/12oz
Reader Ben Anderson finds this Blue Mountain "phenomenal," a "yardstick example of the variety ... extremely complex and proportioned." Certainly a fine example of the Blue Mountain profile, far better than any production roast Blue Mountain I have cupped over the past few years: balanced, with resonant, bell-toned dimension and classic fruit notes of pure, essential coffee character.
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:8
BODY:7
FLAVOR:9
AFTERTASTE:7
AGTRON:g/wb

90
Roast: Dark Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Blend Price: NA
Reader Jim Beckham of Athens, Texas reports he drinks "about a pound a week of this espresso. I frequently try others, but I always come back to this great blend." I might come back to it too. Dry fruit, chocolate and leather notes, fat body, smooth, round, completely without bitterness. In milk excellent authority: rich, developing from dry chocolate in small dairy to milk chocolate in large.
 
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:8
BODY:8
FLAVOR:6
AFTERTASTE:8
AGTRON:45/36

90
Roast: Medium-Dark Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Colombian, Columbian, Costa Rica, Papua New Guinea, Papau New Guinea Price: NA
Reader Derick Miller called Graffeo to my attention, testifying that this group of three small in-store roasters produces "great coffee." I found this light-roasted version of the Graffeo blend acidy but sweet, rich, with a broad flavor range including delicate orange and floral notes. Both aroma and finish showed a slight bitter edge which rounded and softened as the cup cooled.
 
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:7
BODY:8
FLAVOR:8
AFTERTASTE:7
AGTRON:53/47

89
Roast: Medium-Light Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Central American, East African, South American, light roast Price: NA
Reader Peter Lynagh nominated this coffee. I found it brightly acidy but richly sweet, with opulently high-toned lemon and orange notes. Simplifies a bit in the finish, leaving behind a pucker of astringency.
 
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:8
BODY:7
FLAVOR:8
AFTERTASTE:7
AGTRON:76/56

89
Roast: Medium-Dark Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Indonesia, South American, Central American Price: $11.95/16oz
"Great crema - best espresso I've ever had," writes Mandy Elion of Pasadena, California, who rates Supreme Bean espressos 90 - 94. This all-organic espresso blend is balanced, richly and roundly roasty in the demitasse, with undertones of fruity chocolate. A tingle of astringency in the finish is invigorating rather than rough. In small milk comes across heavy with fruity chocolate tones; in large milk sweetly and roundly fruity.
 
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:8
BODY:8
FLAVOR:7
AFTERTASTE:7
AGTRON:51/34

87
Roast: NA Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Espresso Blends Price: NA
Reader Liz Snyder of Newark, Ohio rates this blend 95 - 100 on the basis of an evaluation that makes up in enthusiasm for what it may lack in technical detail: "I love [this coffee]. It tastes SO good." I evaluated the Wiener Melange as espresso. In the demitasse I found it full and round in body and heavily bittersweet in flavor, complicated by dry chocolate tones. In small milk it remained dry, smoky, chocolaty and rather heavy. In larger milk it came fully into its own, softening but still dominating with fruit- and chocolate-nuanced authority.
 
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:8
BODY:7
FLAVOR:7
AFTERTASTE:8
AGTRON:g/wb

87
Roast: NA Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Colombia, Columbia, South American, Latin American Price: NA
A classic medium-roasted Latin-American cup, acidy but distinctly sweet and free of bitterness. The acidity displays some pleasant complication: tangy, grapefruity, perhaps spicy. Nominating reader John Schulz of Northglenn, Colorado rates his sample 90 - 94, finding it "rich and complex, with subtle winey notes." I tasted no wine notes in the sample I brought home, but wine - sweet fermented fruit - notes are quite common in contemporary Colombia coffees and doubtless appear in other batches of the Millstone presentation.
 
AROMA:7
ACIDITY:7
BODY:7
FLAVOR:8
AFTERTASTE:7
AGTRON:g/wb

87
Roast: NA Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Toraja, Kalossi, Sulawesi, Celebes, Indonesia, Pacific Price: $8.95/10oz
Reader Ben Anderson calls this coffee "fantastic." That familiar adjective freshens up when applied to Sulawesi coffees, whose unexpected forest and fruit notes often do seem to express a sort of adventurous coffee fantasy. When hot, this Sulawesi displayed a rich cup with a fine balance of acidity, sweetness and roastiness plus - the Sulawesi factor - carnally rich fruit notes reminiscent of cantaloupe. I started with a rating of over 90, but as the cup cooled a slight salty astringency in the finish lowered my assessment.
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:7
BODY:7
FLAVOR:8
AFTERTASTE:6
AGTRON:g/wb

87
  • Graffeo Coffee

    San Francisco, California
  • Dark Roast (reviewed as espresso)

Roast: Very-Dark Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Colombia, Columbia, Costa Rica, Papua New Guinea, Papau New Guinea Price: NA
Reader Derick Miller called Graffeo to my attention, testifying that this group of three small in-store roasters produces "great coffee." I brewed this dark-roasted version of the Graffeo blend as espresso and found it medium-bodied, smooth in mouthfeel, sweet but crisply roasty. In small milk the bittersweetness read as a dry, smoky chocolate; in larger milk as a delicately sweet but rather dilute chocolate.
 
AROMA:8
ACIDITY:7
BODY:8
FLAVOR:6
AFTERTASTE:8
AGTRON:32/30

87
Roast: NA Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Espresso Blend Price: NA
Reader "Cynmar69" reports this espresso blend "has a true coffee taste, ... smooth and flavorsome unlike most burnt flavored coffees." I found it full-bodied and fat on the tongue, with the kind of pleasantly fermented fruit tones that suggest chocolate-covered cherries. A shimmer of sharp acidity is balanced by sweetness. The finish is clean, rich and chocolaty. Slightly disappointing in small milk, where the coffee seems to simplify without softening, but in larger milk the fruit and chocolate tones bloom nicely. The preground, canned format doubtless accounts for the subdued aroma.
 
AROMA:6
ACIDITY:8
BODY:7
FLAVOR:7
AFTERTASTE:8
AGTRON:0/0

85
Roast: Medium-Dark Review Date: January 2003
Origin: Price: NA
Reader "Siehata" nominated a "morning blend" from Seattle's Best Coffee, testifying that SBC "has been a favorite of mine for years. Better than Millstone or even the over-priced burnt Starbucks." I couldn't find a Seattle's Best morning blend, so I picked Saturday's Blend, figuring that Saturdays have mornings, maybe better mornings than the other days of the week. I found it crisply roasty (though most definitely not burned), with pleasantly dry, bittersweet chocolate tones. For me it hit the sweet spot of dark roasted coffees, but displayed a limited range of aromatics and a lean body. Perhaps it had sat in its bag too long.
 
AROMA:7
ACIDITY:na
BODY:6
FLAVOR:7
AFTERTASTE:7
AGTRON:44/38